Bra Review: Panache Tango II

It is my understanding that the Panache Tango II is a very popular bra. It is supposed to be one of Panache’s best sellers, and some people really do rave about it. So, I was excited when Breakout Bras told me that it would be included in my grab bag order. I was looking forward to trying the Tango II, and hoping it would work for me as well as it has worked for so many other women.

Good in general: the Tango II has a tight, firm band, which I like to see in a bra. It fastens with three rows of hooks in the back, also a plus. The fabric of the cups is pretty, semi-sheer, and not very stretchy. It is a knit mesh so it has a little stretch and give, enough to be comfortable, but it has no elastic. I was pleased that the fabric was soft, not at all irritating. Also, the powerknit on the wings is heavy-duty stuff! It is opaque and firm. These are all things that indicate a quality bra which will last for awhile. Also really neat: the straps are lined with a cushy, soft knit fabric. I think this is a great addition to a bra!

Tango II comes in a wide array of colors, which is lovely for those who want every color of the rainbow. I found the fabric boring, but not ugly.

Unfortunately, I found that the Tango II was not a good fit for me. The cups were too wide and shallow.  The effect was that the Tango flattened my boobs out and pushed them to the sides, making my torso look wider. Also, though the Tango II is billed as a balconette bra, I found it to be quite full-coverage. I know that compared to a fashion model, I am short, but in fact 5’3″ is the average height for a woman, so there is just no reason this bra should come up so very high on me. And in spite of the fact that the cups were very wide, they still didn’t contain my whole breast; I had armpit bulge.

Though the cups did surround my breasts, they just weren’t very supportive for me:

You can see in both pics that my boobs are a bit flattened. I think this is a matter of fit, though, not a flaw in the bra.

Overall, I think the Tango is a good bra. It is well-constructed, pretty, and comes in many colors. However, it just wasn’t a good fit for me. The shape is all wrong for my body. I’m glad I got the chance to try it, but now that I know it doesn’t fit, I’ve listed it for sale on eBay.

You can also find the Tango II online at HerRoom.com.

11 thoughts on “Bra Review: Panache Tango II

  1. You’re not the only one who can’t wear Tango II bras. And you were smart enough to realize it’s just not for your body before it could do any harm to your boobs.

    • Eek. I’m glad I am picky and have learned so much about bra fitting. I am sure I am not the only one who can’t wear them, I was definitely surprised though as so many people rave about them!

  2. I hate the Tango too. I think it’s probably because the bottom section doesn’t come up to meet the strap like better three-piece cups, so it can’t give the proper support–it’s not lifting the bottom of the breast. I’m also resentful because the specialty store I used to go to didn’t have ANYTHING but this in my size. That said I know a ton of people do get a good shape in this. It’s a mystery.

  3. I used to have the embroidered version that they used to sell 3 or 4 years ago, which I thought was cute. I found it unflattering (widening and not uplifting), but I also thought it was quite supportive and sturdy. Also, it was one of the first bras produced in my size back then. As for the regular version, I would consider getting it at a sale price in some colours, if they got rid of the leaf embroidery. It looks dowdy and shows up under tight clothes.

  4. Pingback: Bra Review: Panache Eliza balconette | My Curves

  5. Pingback: Spring 2013 Panache Preview: Superbra Line | A Sophisticated Pair

  6. Pingback: Superbra Autumn/Winter 2013 Looks Amazing! | My Curves

  7. Pingback: Superbra Autumn/Winter 2013 Looks Amazing! | Rock the Curves

Leave a Reply

