Review: Philosophy Vanilla Birthday Cake Body Wash

This body wash was a free gift for my birthday, from Sephora. I love scented bath products, and the scent of vanilla is a favorite, so I was glad to get the trial-sized bottle. I’ve used it in the shower and bath for more than a month now.

This purports to be a 3-in-1 product: shampoo, shower gel, and bubble bath. I tried it as a shampoo and wasn’t impressed. It was difficult to thoroughly spread the gel through my hair, and my hair didn’t feel clean after. I suppose it would do in a pinch, but I’m not about to replace my shampoo with it.

As a body wash and bubble bath, it does much better: the bubbles are long-lasting in the bath, which surprised me. In the shower, I find that this lathers well, and my skin feels soft after. I am also impressed by how the scent lingers: for some time after my shower, I could smell it on my skin.

The fragrance is interesting: it is not quite the scent of vanilla cake baking. It does have a nice, sweet starchy vanilla scent, but the tail end of that scent is a whiff of plastic. It actually smells very much like a new vinyl baby doll smelled back in the 80s. That’s not a bad smell, it’s sweet and definitely vanilla.

Would I buy it again? Probably not, but not because it’s not a good product; it IS a good product in my view. I don’t buy shower gels anymore, because of the waste factor; I am trying to reduce my plastic consumption, so I largely prefer bar soaps these days, as their packaging is usually recyclable cardboard.

If you want to give it a try, you can find Philosophy Vanilla Birthday Cake Shampoo/Shower Gel/Bubble Bath at Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

