matchy matchy

The bloggers at Busts4Justice posed the question: must underpants match the bra? Are non-matching underpants a faux pas? My answer to both questions is an unequivocal “no!”

I was really concerned about my underpants matching my bra in junior high, but I got over that right quick. What I want in a bra for everyday wear is different from what I want in underpants. There’s absolutely no reason they must match. Of course, if you really like matching all the time, and you can afford a collection of underpants to match your bras (no easy feat for those of us in large cup sizes) then go for it. It’s a matter of personal choice.

I live in a hot, humid climate, so for everyday wear, like with jeans or trousers, I stick with cotton underpants. Under skirts, I prefer boyshorts,ย  as they add modesty but don’t show a pantyline (also, I just love boyshorts.) I choose my daily bra according to my needs that day, usually related to what shirt I am wearing, and where that bra is in rotation.

As for underpants, I buy them in colors I like, which usually means a lot of basic black, and then a riot of whatever other colors are available in my size the day I shopped.

I would especially never say that a person’s personal choice about underwear is a faux pas. There is no etiquette about matching underwear, no standard social convention. The reason for this, of course, is that your underwear is your own business!

2 thoughts on “matchy matchy

  1. This is so true ! haha I am a complete lingerie addict, but even I don’t aggree with matching for the sake of it ! If the bra in the set is perfect and the pants are just naff afterthoughts, I refuse to buy them just because. I’d rather buy a simple french knicker style in different colours that will match the bra and i know will suit me and look good then some awful mesh concoction that the designers desperately slinged in for extra sales. And exactly what you say is true too, you need different things from bras and pants- as long as both are nice, who cares if they match ๐Ÿ˜› haha! xx ps. love the design and layout of your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

